Maryland Tech Council Announces the Finalists for the Industry Awards Celebration

Winners to be Revealed May 22 at the Industry Awards Celebration

Industry Awards Celebration (IAC). Winners will be revealed at a celebration on May 22, 2019 at the Bethesda North Marriott Hotel and Conference Center. The event, which draws more than 500 executives from the technology and life sciences communities, celebrates individuals and companies that have made a significant impact in their sectors.

“I am excited by the work the nominating committee has done with respect to gathering the best the DMV region has to offer specific to our award categories,” said Tony Deflumeri, the Atlantic Region Director of Business Development for BDO and co-chair of the IAC nominating committee.

“This year’s process has far exceeded my expectations as it relates to both the quality and excellence of the nominations across all industries,” said Howard S. Rothman, Vice President, Wealth Management of The Washingtonian Group of UBS Financial Services and co-chair of the IAC nominating committee. “Making these selections is always challenging and this year’s finalists truly demonstrate the strength of our innovation ecosystem.”

Finalists for the 2019 Industry Awards Celebration are:

Chief Executive Officer of the Year:

  • David Affeldt, President and Chief Executive Officer, GRSi
  • Jeff Galvin, Chief Executive Officer, American Gene Technologies
  • Tim Goodnow, President and Chief Executive Officer, Senseonics
  • Ashish Kachru, Chief Executive Officer, Altruista Health
  • Rob Pierre, Chief Executive Officer, Jellyfish
  • Jason Volk, Chief Executive Officer, Alertus Technologies

Emerging Company of the Year:

  • CuriosityStream
  • Cybrary
  • gel-e
  • RoosterBio
  • Viela Bio
  • Vigene Biosciences

Government Contracting Company of the Year:

  • Altamira Technologies Corporation
  • Enterprise Resource Planning International
  • GRSi
  • NET Esolutions Corporation
  • NewWave Telecom & Technologies

Life Science Company of the Year:

  • American Gene Technologies
  • Aperiomics
  • QIAGEN Sciences
  • Senseonics
  • Sterilex

Technology Company of the Year:

  • Advance Business Systems
  • Altruista Health
  • Customer Value Partners
  • FEI Systems
  • GetWellNetwork
  • Jellyfish


MTC’s annual celebration will begin at 5:30 pm with cocktail hour, followed by dinner and the awards ceremony. In partnership with Alexandria Real Estate, five high school seniors will be awarded with a $4,500 STEM scholarship to pursue a STEM-related field of study at a public college or university in the state of Maryland. In addition, an educator who is furthering excellence in the classroom and exciting K-12 students about STEM will be presented with the STEM Educator of the Year Award and a $500 prize sponsored by AstraZeneca.

Sponsors for the event include:

Award Sponsors – AstraZeneca, Baird, BDO, Pillsbury, UBS and VWR

STEM Scholarship Sponsor – Alexandria Real Estate Equities

Gold Sponsors – Aronson, Dovel Technologies, Iron Bow Technologies, Marsh & McLennan Agency, Mindgrub, Novavax, Paragon Bioservices, Social and Scientific Systems and Vision Technologies

Launch Party Sponsors – CNSI and Colliers International

Finalist Reception – BDO and UBS

For more information or to purchase tickets, visit the MTC website.


The Maryland Tech Council (MTC) is the largest technology trade group serving the advanced technology and biotechnology communities of Maryland. MTC’s mission is to advocate for the interests of the technology community, further the role of technology in the Maryland economy, and nurture an environment where technology companies can collaborate, grow and succeed. For more information, visit


Maryland Tech Council
Michelle Ferrone
Executive Vice President, Operations