For Immediate Release
Michelle Ferrone
Executive Vice President, Operations
Maryland Tech Council
(240) 243-4047

Maryland Tech Council Announces Winners of 29th Annual Industry Awards

ROCKVILLE, Md, June 5, 2017 – The Maryland Tech Council (MTC), Maryland’s largest technology trade association, announced the winners of its 29th Annual Industry Awards during a celebration and ceremony at the Bethesda North Marriott Hotel and Conference Center attended by more than 550 business leaders from around the state.

“MTC was honored to recognize the Industry Award winners this year whose innovations are improving and saving lives,” said Tami Howie, CEO, Maryland Tech Council. “This year’s winners gave inspiring and heart-felt messages on their advancements and how they are changing the world.”

Winners of the 2017 Industry Awards Celebration are:

MTC VMS Pilot Year Award

STEM Scholarship Award
BrianHa McMillon, Benjamin Franklin High School at Masonville Cove
Princesse Embankana, Digital Harbor High School

STEM Educator of the Year
Sara Norris, Middle School Science Teacher, St. Pius X Regional School
Mari Lynn Stalnaker, 4th Grade Teacher/STEM Leader, Middletown Elementary School

Tech Advocate of the Year
Delegate Darryl Barnes

Community Innovation Award
Marco Chacón

Government Contracting Company of the Year
Polaris Alpha

Technology Company of the Year

Life Science Company of the Year

Emerging Company of the Year

Financial Executive of the Year
Molly Hill Patten, Senior Vice President, Finance and Operations, Aledade

Chief Executive Officer of the Year
Daniel Abdun-Nabi, Chief Executive Officer, Emergent BioSolutions

Event sponsors included:

Award Sponsors - AstraZeneca/MedImmune, BDO, BioMarker Strategies, Houlihan Lokey, JLL, PwC, UBS Financial Services Inc. and VWR

Gold Sponsors – BIO, CDW, Emergent BioSolutions, Immunomic Therapeutics, Iron Bow Technologies, Montgomery College, Novavax, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman, Social & Scientific Systems and Sucampo

STEM Scholarship Sponsor - Alexandria Real Estate Equities

Community Innovation Sponsor – University of Maryland BioPark

Silver Sponsors – Glass Jacobson Financial Group and The Meltzer Group